manifold bolt diy fail

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

professor00

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
V8
IMG_1065.jpeg
Hello, i am wondering if anyone knows if i can save this and manage to get this bolt out myself before i end up getting the whole truck towed to a shop. i’m pretty defeated and definitely wish i had gone the welding route earlier, a mobile welder said there’s nothing left there for him to weld on to without potentially damaging the block so he declined and i have no welder/welding experience. i’ve used a left hand drill bit and extractor but obviously as the picture shows, i’ve made it worse. the bolt is also slightly below flush so absolutely nothing to grab on to.
thanks for any help

Atcer2018

Military
Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
View attachment 544895
Hello, i am wondering if anyone knows if i can save this and manage to get this bolt out myself before i end up getting the whole truck towed to a shop. i’m pretty defeated and definitely wish i had gone the welding route earlier, a mobile welder said there’s nothing left there for him to weld on to without potentially damaging the block so he declined and i have no welder/welding experience. i’ve used a left hand drill bit and extractor but obviously as the picture shows, i’ve made it worse. the bolt is also slightly below flush so absolutely nothing to grab on to.
thanks for any help

Like you I have zero welding experience or knowledge. I have seen some vids where talented welders can do some pretty amazing work on really messed up fasteners. I’d get the opinion of a different mobile welder before getting it towed to a shop. Quite possibly the opinion of the mobile welder you consulted was based on his abilities not what can actually be done by someone with more experience.

OP
OP
P

professor00

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
V8