Partial Leaf Spring Removal?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

mtofell

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 6.4
Tell me if I'm crazy - My plan when I eventually replace my 2500 is to go with a 3500 SRW Ram. I had originally planned to just replace the entire rear suspension with an air system but those sure do seem to be expensive (upwards of 4K from what I've found).

So, could I just remove some of the stock leaf springs to give me a soft ride while daily driving and install a nice set of airbags to support when towing my 5th wheel? In a perfect world I'd have about the ride and capability of a 1/2 ton when not towing. This seems like a much less expensive option that would result in close to the same outcome.

And..... before you guys rattling around empty in a 3500 try to tell me it's not that bad, I've been driving HD trucks for 20 years and am just sick of it. I get in a buddies 1500 and it feels like I'm in a Cadillac. My 2500 with coils is a tick better than 3500 leaf springs but it's still plenty harsh. I'm getting too old to be tossed and jarred around like a bale of hay.

olyelr

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Tell me if I'm crazy - My plan when I eventually replace my 2500 is to go with a 3500 SRW Ram. I had originally planned to just replace the entire rear suspension with an air system but those sure do seem to be expensive (upwards of 4K from what I've found).

So, could I just remove some of the stock leaf springs to give me a soft ride while daily driving and install a nice set of airbags to support when towing my 5th wheel? In a perfect world I'd have about the ride and capability of a 1/2 ton when not towing. This seems like a much less expensive option that would result in close to the same outcome.