Superchips vs. Diablo - Please explain differences

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

FSUNole17

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7
I am going to probably be buying a tuner in a few months and wanted to not necessarily ask which is the BEST, because I know that is a very judgmental question, but my question is what are the differences between the two? My truck only has a Magnaflow 1 in, 1 out muffler. Other than that it is bone stock. I do not race the truck, I just simply drive it. With the tuner I am going to want to turn off the MDS but outside of that, I do not know the capabilities of the tuners. I am not technically inclined and I would LIKE to optimize the truck to run better, but I don't know how to change parameters necessary for this (spark, fuel, timing, etc.). Are there "standardized tunes" that do this for you based on your requests or do you have to tune each one individually? Basically I am wanting to know the capabilities of tuning for a very novice driver such a myself and if it is worth the money to get one. Thanks in advance for any advice/help!

BlackedOutHemi

Reaction score
Ram Year
2012 & 2012
Engine
5.7L HEMI & 6.7L Cummins
It's actually not very judgmental as there is a distinct difference between the two. If you do not plan a lot of engine work or custom tuning, go with super chips, if you want to custom tune your truck or be able to to have control to change multiple parameters of your truck, go with diablo.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

MADDOG

Out Exploring Arizona
Supporting Member
Military
Reaction score
Take a look at this link which will explain, in the first document, the capabilities and options of the Predator/Trinity programmers.