tire rotation question

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

avp12304

Reaction score
Ram Year
2005, 2006
Engine
4.7, 5.9 Cummins
so I was about to rotate my tires today, (usually I take the front two tires, flip them and move them to the back, and just bring the back two tires forward) and I was told by a "mechanic" that when rotating tires, they should be rotated in a manner that they are always spinning in the same direction, otherwise they will wear way faster than they were mean't to, is there any truth in this? If this is the case then all you could do for a tire rotation is move the front tire back and the back tire forward, keeping them all on the same side. Didn't really seem like it made sense to me..but then again I'm no mechanic either, what do yall think?

Egress

Reaction score
Ram Year
03 1500 Quad Cab 4x4 SLT
Engine
Stock 235hp 4.7L/287 V-8
I’ve always been told this is the correct pattern for RWD and 4x4's, which is actually the way you described to do them. He would be correct if the set of tires were in fact directional.

Attachments

• tire-rotation.jpg
    tire-rotation.jpg
    9.4 KB · Views: 240
Last edited:
OP
OP
A

avp12304

Reaction score
Ram Year
2005, 2006
Engine
4.7, 5.9 Cummins
that's exactly how I was talking about yes! have you heard anything about them rotating in a different direction causing excessive wear? I kinda figured modern nondirectional tires were designed with this in mind.

Egress

Reaction score
Ram Year
03 1500 Quad Cab 4x4 SLT
Engine
Stock 235hp 4.7L/287 V-8
I had a set back in the 90's that were a rain tread, and if memory serves me correct they were directional. I remember some tire on some vehicle I owned having an arrow on them, lol

NYCruiser

Reaction score
Ram Year
Engine
Hemi 5.7